Leave a comment

I need a tube pan! A 10″ tube pan with a removable bottom

Coffee Cake and Cappuccino

I had been wanting to make the Cinnamon-Streusel Sour Cream Coffee Cake out of The Art and Soul of Baking. By now, you may be aware of how much I like both cinnamon and streusel. So obviously this cake with the really long name, got my attention.
However, I read through the recipe and noticed that it called for a 10″ tube pan with a removable bottom (kinda like a bunt cake pan or an Angel Food cake pan. But not exactly the same as either of those). Since I don’t have one, I just  put off trying the recipe and considered the option of buying a 10″ tube pan, with a removable bottom…..that I might not use all that often. And then forgetfulness struck! A couple days later I open the book again and ask myself “Why haven’t I made this yet? Oh, right! I don’t have sour cream.” Ummm…..Oh, wrong. I don’t have a 10″ tube pan with a removable bottom.
I proceeded to the corner store to purchase sour cream. Problem Solved!!!! So I thought. I returned home and placed several of my ingredients on the counter so that they would be at room temperature when I was ready to begin baking. And, it wasn’t until after I had left sour cream, eggs, and butter on the counter unrefrigerated for a good length of time, that I again realized that I don’t own a 10″ tube pan WITH a removable bottom. So…I …..used a 9″ springform pan. Why that one? its the only one that seemed tall enough to hold all the batter. And, this isn’t one of those cakes you can just turn upside down. It seemed like a reasonable alternative.
Unfortunately for me, the tube in the center of that 10″ tube pan with a removable bottom seems to have a purpose. Its not just decorative. The center of the cake took a long time to bake (the tube probably would have helped with that). Meaning, I had to leave it in the oven longer. Meaning, It got a little overdone and tough around the outside. I was careful. It didn’t burn…It wasn’t terrible or even bad. But, I can clearly see how a 10″ tube pan with a removable bottom could have made it better.

Coffee Cake
Another option would have been to actually follow the recommended variation in the book. And use…….a muffin tin. Arrrghhh muffins! Not now. No more muffin tins for me. Not for at least another week.
And since I’m still not really sure I want to invest in a 10″ tube pan with a removable bottom, I’ll need to avoid cakes that should be sliced into slightly arched, smiley, rainbow-like, pieces. My coffee will simple need to be accompanied by cake pieces shaped like triangles, circles (once I recover from muffin baking), squares, or rectangles.

Triangle shaped cake slice and cappuccino

Triangle shaped cake slice and cappuccino

Leave a comment