1 Comment

Cabbage and Turmeric Easter Eggs

Easter Eggs Cabbage Turmeric

Last year for Easter, my dear friend Luba made some “naturally dyed” eggs.

The idea of naturally dying eggs had never crossed my mind before, but it sure sounded like a super cool thing I would enjoy doing. So….this year I thought I would give it a try!!!

I was however feeling somewhat traditional. I wanted Eastery pastel colored eggs (no brown, orange, or deep dark blue for me. At least not this year) . The other catch was that I didn’t want to create a grocery list full of items that I wanted to purchase for the sole purpose of coloring eggs. So, I simply bought a small head of purple cabbage. As for turmeric, I already had it in the pantry…so no additional cost.

Yellow (because I was only coloring a few eggs, I only used half of the listed quantities)

4 cups (one quart) water

2 Tablespoons white vinegar

4 Tablespoons turmeric

1 teaspoon salt

Hard boiled eggs

Place first four ingredients in a saucepan or small pot. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for 30 minutes.

After thirty minutes, remove from heat. You can use it to color your hard boiled eggs while the liquid is still warm. It seems to take less time to dye the eggs when the mixture is warm. Once the mixture has cooled completely, it may take up to 30 minutes for the egg to reach a nice light (but not too light) yellow. Also, I like giving the eggs a little rinse and wipe once I remove them from the turmeric mixture. Sometimes grains of turmeric are attached to your eggs when you first take them out.

Blue

4 cups (one quart) water

2 Tablespoons white vinegar

4  cups chopped red cabbage

1 teaspoon salt

Hard boiled eggs

Place first 4 ingredients in a saucepan or small pot. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for 30 minutes. Strain liquid to remove the cabbage.

To create a nice light – medium blue color, soak your hard boiled egg for 30 minutes. When you remove your egg from the cabbage mixture, go ahead and dry it off a bit.

Unless you’re going for this look

Natural_dye_eggs-7771

Nice drip mark…..right?

Green (As you know Yellow and blue make green)

turmeric mixture (see above)

cabbage mixture (see above)

Hard boiled eggs

Place your hard boiled egg in the turmeric mixture for approximately 30 minutes. Rinse off turmeric grains. Place the now yellow egg into the cabbage liquid for at least 5 minutes…until you’ve reached you desired shade of green.

Natural_dye_eggs-7767I do regret that I didn’t have any beets to make pink or purple eggs. So…guess who’s going to be enjoying a nice beet salad just a couple days before next Easter!!!!

One comment on “Cabbage and Turmeric Easter Eggs

  1. Those turned out so pretty!! I never thought to make green out of the yellow and blue together–brilliant!

Leave a Reply

