Leave a comment

Tomatillo: Green Fruit Salad

Tomatillo

This has been a lovely summer of firsts. So many first tries at so many fun things like making croissants and puff pastry dough. And even more recently, for the first time, I had a cake collapse on me while baking in the oven. Yay? boooooo!

Well, a few days ago I had the pleasure of canning for the first time, with my good friend Luba. We made and canned some tomatillo salsa and brandied apricots.

After we were done with our canning adventures we had a good amount of leftover produce. At which point it dawned on me that I wasn’t really sure what to do with tomatillos, other than make salsa. Until this week, I had never utilized tomatillos for anything else. So I searched Google a little to get the creative juices flowing and I came up with a couple things I wanted to try out. I came across a tomatillo and watermellon salad that inspired me to try a “Green Fruits Salad” and a Bacon and tomatillo grilled cheese that inspired me to try a  tomatillo version of a BLT (Bacon, lettuce and tomatillo sandwich)

I’ll tell you more about the BLT later in the week. For today, let’s talk fruit salad!

If you’re like me, when you think fruit salad you probably think sweet. But for today, you’re going to need to change your perspective and think tart. In Latin America, It’s pretty common that lime juice, salt, and chili powder accompany fruit. And this fruit salad is heavily influenced by this.

Green Fruit Salad 

Ingredients:

  • Cucumber(s)
  • Tart green apple(s)
  • Tomatillo(s)
  • Lime(s)
  • Salt
  • Chili Powder

Peel Cucumber. Remove husk from tomatillo and wash well. Chop cucumber, apple, and tomatillo into bite sized pieces and place in bowl. Squeeze lime juice over the fruit and toss. Sprinkle with salt and chili powder. Toss and taste. Feel free to add more lime juice, salt and/or chili powder to taste. As a general rule, I use much more salt than I do chili powder…and, I think that’s pretty common.

Green Fruit Salad

I personally found this fruit salad quite pleasing. But, I’ve always been a fan of the tart, sweet, and salty combo.

I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

