6 Comments

Photos of Making Croissants

Croissant dough

Last week, while I was eating much better than I am this week, I took the time to put together some croissant dough. It looked to me like it would be much like making quick puff pastry. Roll, fold, roll, refrigerate, wait, repeat. And in many ways it was. However, croissant dough has yeast in it and so…..it rises and sometimes there are little air bubbles….it’s definitely a little different. I probably didn’t seal in the butter as well as I should have because a couple times little bits of butter oozed out of my dough while rolling. But, it must have forgiven me because they turned out fine in the end.

I made the dough one day, refrigerated the dough overnight, and shaped the croissants the next day.

Rolling out the dough nice and thin,

Cutting it into two long strips, measuring and marking the strips of dough along the edges,

and using the markings to help guide my cutting of the triangle pieces.

For the plain croissants, I made slits at the bottom of the triangle and  stretched them out into an Eiffel tower shape before rolling tightly towards the tip. This extra slit seemed to help stretch out the bottom enough to create a nice crescent shape once rolled.

I put a cut slice of ham and bits of cheese in some of the others (grated cheese and bits of cheese make it easier to roll than slices of cheese. The ham slice with sliced cheese on top of that, isn’t quite as pliable)

Others got a little bit of grated chocolate. It was difficult to keep things neat with the grated chocolate.

Once I was done shaping the croissants, I placed them in the freezer on a baking sheet just long enough so that they would become firm and keep shape. I then transferred them to a freezer bag and stored them in the freezer for a couple days. When I was ready to make them I had to defrost them for a couple hours, added the egg wash (croissant dough doesn’t brown on its own), and let them rise for an additional hour, back into the freezer for 10 minutes, a little extra egg wash, and finally into the oven! Yay!!!

Photos of making and shaping croissants

I ended up with some of theses,

Some of theses (I melted some semi-sweet chocolate and drizzled it on top as well as dusting them with a bit of powdered sugar),

And last but not least, some of these. It was a time consuming process but the outcome was yummy.

6 comments on “Photos of Making Croissants

  1. I am a witness to the fact that they are indeed yummy. Thank you. Al liked them too

  2. These look fabulous! I’ve always wanted to try making croissants but have never been brave enough. Maybe one day though!

  3. It was so much fun eating this because I actually didnt know that there was something inside. It was a great treat to bite into this mini croissant and find a “prize” of meat & cheese inside. The texture of the croissant was perfect…not too soft and not too hard, with enough crunchiness to it. The only thing I regret is that I didn’t get the one with the chocolate inside. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Chocolate croissants! Maybe next time. Thanks for the goodies!

  4. Wow! This looks amazing! I feel inspired to bake 🙂

Leave a Reply

