2 Comments

SILPAT -what and why

Silpat

Silpat is a silicon mat that is used to line a baking sheet (often in place of parchment paper) so that your baked goods don’t stick to the sheet. I just got mine. So far, I love it. For a long time, I put off getting a Silpat because I thought them to be a little pricy and I also felt parchment paper was more versatile. I still believe all that to be true. A silicon mat is by no means a necessity….unless!!!! you’re doing a lot of baking and find yourself going through parchment paper rather quickly. In which case it can be both a money saver and a time saver. It fits so perfectly on my sheet!

Silpat

Birthday Cake Crumb (Recipe from: Milk – momofuku milk bar) on Silpat lined baking sheet.

That’s not to say I won’t need parchment paper anymore. I’ll still need it to line everything else. 😉

I’ll need parchment for pies and tarts

And for lining loaf pans

And…..I’m sure there are other reasons too, that I just can’t think of at the moment. But either way, I’m quite happy with my Silpat and I think it was a good choice for me. Yay!

2 comments on “SILPAT -what and why

  1. This is so amazing! I got hungry just by looking at your post! =)

  2. We love Silpat!!

Leave a Reply

