3 Comments

Raisin Focaccia & Del’ Oliva Olive Oil

Focaccia with raisins

After making a few batches of oatmeal raisin cookies, I had some leftover raisins. So….I thought this might be a good time to try out the Raisin Rosemary focaccia in the Art and Soul of Baking. Unfortunately, I didn’t have quite enough raisins or rosemary. But, that didn’t stop me. I went over and started reading the Sarabeth recipe for rosemary focaccia and noticed that she uses “fruity extra-virgin olive oil.” This reminded me of the blood orange olive oil I got at Del’ Oliva. I decided I would make up for the lack of raisins by using  Blood Orange olive oil. Oh the smell of the dough as it was kneading was devine. I really like how the focaccia turned out, with a light hint of citrus . Which brings me to my next topic – Del’ Oliva

I think I love Del’ Oliva. There is a Del Oliva Olive Oil shop in Burlingame CA (that’s in the SF bay area peninsula-click to read more about the shop) I recently went into Del’ Oliva to replenish a Blood Orange Olive Oil and Tangerine Balsamic I was gifted a while back. But some how, I walked away with 4 different flavors of 0il and 2 different flavors of balsamic.

Del' Oliva Olive Oils

If you’re a foodie and in the Bay Area, you’ll really enjoy making a trip to this store. You can taste the oils and see which ones you like best. At first I was a little weirded out by the idea of drinking oil…but the flavor of these oils really make it much more pleasant than you might think. If you’re not in the Bay Area….You can order from their website! Unfortunately, the selection is significantly limited online, compared to in-store.

Here are a couple recommendations:

  • Blood Orange Olive Oil and Tangerine Balsamic pairing: If it wasn’t already obvious, I love this pairing. The flavors are beautiful and perfect for dipping your favorite french bread. Or…you can use the oil in a Focaccia 😉
  • The Strawberry Balsamic: Its delicious on Salad. I pair it with a small amount of the basil olive oil. Unfortunately, I can’t find The Strawberry Balsamic on their website, but perhaps either the raspberry balsamic or pomegranate balsamic will do the trick.
  • Tuscan Herb Olive Oil and the Organic Butter Olive Oil (not available online): Just last week I sliced up some zucchini tossed it with salt, pepper, fresh herbs, the Tuscan oil,  the butter oil, topped it with a bit of grated Parmesan and popped it in the oven for a while. I LOVED IT!!!! I like a butter flavor on my veggies. I thought it really worked well in this case and I got to enjoy buttery flavored veggies without the guilt 🙂 FYI, the Butter Olive Oil does in fact taste like butter. However, It also has an olive oil flavor. So….you may not find it suitable for replacing butter in all of your cooking. (I tried it on my popcorn. I wasn’t to into it. But, some people might be.)

If you get a chance to visit Del’ Oliva and discover something you really like, please pass on the information to me. I love experimenting with these oils.

3 comments on “Raisin Focaccia & Del’ Oliva Olive Oil

  1. This is a great post! We, at DEL’OLIVA, are so glad you like our products and that we could contribute to your recipe 🙂 Please keep us in mind and visit often for new flavors of extra virgin olive oil and balsamic. Also, for your readers, like our Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/DELOLIVA) and join the conversation with us and other quality EVOO and balsamic enthusiasts!

  2. I think I’m so used to Focaccia bread with the red sauce, this one wasn’t a big hit with me. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad at all…just not the type of focaccia I’m used to. I didn’t actually taste any of the oil you are referring to, but defintely liked the bites where the raisins were present. It gave it more flavor.

    You mentioned you didn’t have as much of the ingredients as you were planning, so maybe if you tried again and added more raisins and rosemary, it might just be what works for me. I’m DEFINITELY in love with bread…but I prefer just a little more flavor.

    Thanks for sharing! And keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

