3 Comments

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Part II

I thought trying to find a good oatmeal cookie recipe would be like trying to find a good chocolate chip cookie recipe. I thought I might encounter some strange cake puff type cookies. But no! All the recipes I’ve tried have been everything a cookie should be. Crisp around the edges and chewy in the center.

Ironically, as I was getting my photos uploaded for my first oatmeal cookie post, I noticed that the kind blogger form More Than Greens had just posted on a her blog a recommendation for a great oatmeal cookie. How could I resist! It was like fate brought the two of us together (me and the recipe).

The recipe comes from the Joy of Baking web-site. This cookie has more oats than the previous cookies, It uses cinnamon (the others didn’t) and although it uses less white sugar, It is an extremely flavorful cookie. It’s not at all dry despite all the oats. I imagine its large size may help with that.

Because the cookies are rather large, you will need to flatten them a bit before baking.

I’m not sure if there is a specific way you’re supposed to go about this. But, I placed a piece of wax paper over the cookie dough and used another baking sheet to flatten them out. It worked well for me.

If you’re looking for a flavorful oatmeal raisin cookie with great texture, I would suggest you give this one a try. I doubt you’ll be disappointed. It’s delicious!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

3 comments on “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Part II

  1. This 3rd Oatmeal cookie you’ve created was another great one! It defintieily had more “oats”, but it wasn’t oatie in a bad way. For some reason, it didn’t taste as sweet to me as the other ones you made, but I wonder if it’s because there were more oats in this one? I think you could DEFINITELY add this one to the basket of Oatmeal goodies you’ll be giving your dad for Father’s day! Nice job! =o)

  2. Oh, you’ve made me want to bake these again with your gorgeous photos!

    You used a much more sophisticated ‘flattening’ method than I did – I just squished them down with my hands. =P

  3. Oooh … nice and thick. Something to really bite into. They look delicious!

Leave a Reply

