3 Comments

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Part I

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Every year during the winter holiday season, I bake cookies for friends and family. And every year I forget that Oatmeal Raisin is my father’s favorite. And every year he says or asks “did you make oatmeal raisin?” “you should make oatmeal raisin.” “Oatmeal raisin cookies are may favorite.” “you know what kind of cookies I really like? Oatmeal Raisin.”  So….this year for father’s day my father will be getting Oatmeal raisin cookies. Like it or not!

As strange as this may seem, until yesterday, I had never taken the time to bake Oatmeal cookies of any sort. I’m not really sure why. I suppose I thought most people preferred sugar cookies or chocolate chip. Well, yesterday I tackled two recipes for Oatmeal Raisin cookies; In hopes to find a really good one worthy of Father’s Day. To my surprise. I really liked both recipes. I’m wondering if its true what they say about the apple not falling far from the tree…..maybe oatmeal raisin cookies are my favorite too…if I remember correctly, my mother is also fond of them. Perhaps it’s in my genes.

The first recipe I tried was from Sarabeth’s Bakery: From My Hands to Yours.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

The original recipe includes sunflower seeds. But, I didn’t think my father would be into that so….I omitted them and just used raisins. As I mentioned, I had never made oatmeal cookies before. So, In all my excitement, I may have taken them out of the oven prematurely. As you can see, they’re a little pale and they break apart more easily than the others. Despite their less appetizing appearance, they taste real good. Rumor has it, my neighbor is a big fan of this cookie.  Now I did leave the cookies in the oven for the full 18 minutes that the recipe called for. I just had some difficulty with the Magic Chef. I thought the temperature was at 350, but it turned out to be closer to 325….I think.

The second recipe was from The Art and Soul of Baking.

Now the book says that the recipe makes 50 cookies. Hmmmmm, I ended up with closer to 15.  Fifty. Fifteen. I could see how one could get confused. I tried making them smaller than the fist batch. But there was no way I was going to end up with anything close to 50. Ha! (It’s a good thing really. What would I have done with 50 cookies?)

As for the recipe. It was less time consuming than the first. The directions clearly stated that the cookies should look golden and just a bit white in the center when done. And as you can see, they came out looking very handsome. I really do appreciate how thoroughly things are described in this book. I find it extremely helpful.

The cookie itself  was also very yummy. To me, it seemed a little less sweet than the other cookie. To my husband, both cookies tasted exactly the same.

Perhaps its all in my head, but I’m pretty sure my sweet tooth preferred the first. I would imagine that some people might prefer the second cookie for it being less sweet.

3 comments on “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Part I

  1. Hey Irene! Thanks for the cookies. In my opionon, unlike your husband, I DID taste the difference. =P You are right, one was definitely sweeter than the other. I actually found the darker one to be sweeter, than the lighter cookie. If your dad has a sweet tooth, I think the sweeter one is best for his Father’s Day basket of goodies. If he just LOVES oatmeal raisin cookies altogether, I’d give him a mix of both kinds. =o) Thx again! ~MC

  2. Those cookies look lovely! And I must confess: I haven’t made oatmeal cookies. I despise raisins, so that might explain things… but still. Maybe I should sub the sunflower seeds back in for the raisins…

  3. Totally loved this oatmeal raisin cookie; definitely a must for father’s day 🙂
    Yum yum beautifully textured banana bread.

Leave a Reply

