2 Comments

Muffins: Day 4

Blueberry Muffins

Today’s muffin:

  • A basic blueberry muffin. I used a recipe that a wonderful and thoughtful friend shared with me. The recipe was emailed to her by Cook’s Illustrated.
  • uses more egg and more flour than the other recipe
  • uses oil in addition to butter.
  • doesn’t use lemon zest.
  • For the Topping….the recipe calls for turbinado sugar. Since I didn’t have any, I used the streusel topping from day 2 on half and maple sugar on the other half
Blueberry Muffin with maple sugar

Blueberry Muffin with maple sugar topping

Blueberry muffin with streusel topping

Blueberry muffin with streusel topping

Verdict:

There is nothing wrong with this muffin except that it doesn’t excite me. It’s moist. It has some sweetness to it. It has blueberries! Yay!

But it tastes like something is missing. Now keep in mind, I’m a picky muffin consumer. I started off the week expressing that I don’t particularly like muffins. This muffin tastes like a muffin. So….If you are into muffins you’ll probably like this one.  My husband liked them 🙂 The other thing is that my blueberries weren’t the sweetest or most flavorful. They were really big and I think smaller ones would have been better. I would have preferred a larger quantity of smaller berries over a smaller quantity of larger berries. Bigger isn’t always better – especially when it come to berries. Over all….its a nice muffin. But If I were to make it again, I might add some almond extract or lemon zest.

2 comments on “Muffins: Day 4

  1. I was watching America’s Test Kitchen the other day, and they made a muffin with some ground nuts replacing the flour, but the VERY interesting part was that they let the batter hydrate for about a half hour before they baked it. I thought that was rather clever.

    • Its pretty crazy what food smarty pants think to do. I wish I had a better understanding of how ingredients work together and the chemistry of it all. I think I’m starting to understand some things….sorta. Hopefully by the end of the summer I’ll feel at least a teeny tiny bit more knowledgeable. I think it would be kinda cool to be a food smarty pants and let your nuts hydrate. hmmmm….that didn’t come out right.

Leave a Reply

