Leave a comment

My “Pull Apart Bread” Test Kitchen

I couldn’t help but notice the cheesy goodness of the pull apart breads on the Pinterest boards of some of my friends.

Bacon Cheddar Ranch…..Mushrooms and cheese……pesto and cheese….

It inspired me to experiment. And, I would like to encourage you to do the same….’cause it was fun.

I wanted to try something similar to what was already out there and then try some more risky options.

here are the 3 I tried

Pull Apart Bread Ingredients

Pull Apart Bread Ingredients

1. Freshly cooked crisp bacon, cheddar cheese,  and green onions (sliced and sauteed in the bacon drippings with some salt and pepper)

Bacon Cheddar Green Onions Pull Apart Bread

The first one was similar to the recipe I saw. The only changes I made was that I cooked my own bacon rather than using bacon bits and I omitted the ranch dressing mix and added green onions. Here is a link to what I think is the original Cheddar Bacon Ranch recipe. I would definitely make this again. I might also like to try a white cheddar version (white cheddar, bacon and leeks).

2. Brie with apricot preserves and drizzled with honey and browned butter

Brie and apricot pull apart bread

I love sweet! So, the flavors for the second one were right up my alley. It was yummy, but not too easy to tear apart. If I try it again, next time I might cut little pieces of dried apricots rather than using the apricot preserve. I think this specific combination may use too many sticky things. After it cooled completely it was easier to tear pieces off. If you’re curious, I put apricot preserves between the cuts in the bread, stuffed the shorter slices with brie, drizzled a spoon full of honey over the cuts, and drizzled about 3 tbl. spoons of browned butter over the entire loaf.

3. Strained tomatoes, Parmesan, garlic, and herbs.

I didn’t like this one. I think I used too much of the strained tomato and I should have added salt. It was a little soggy. Next time I would…..hmmm……. just try caramelized onions and blue cheese.

Each loaf was cooked using the same directions/ procedure:

Wrap each loaf in foil and bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Unwrap and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

The Brie and apricot probably would have done better with a little less time in the oven.

pull-apart-bread

Ok…..your turn. Go try your own and let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

